My Top 3 Racing Moments Of 2014

3

I had to set the alarm for 3.55 am to watch racing moment number three on my list but it was well worth it to witness Ryan Moore steer home the German trained horse Protectionist in the Melbourne Cup at the start of November.

Moore saved ground all the way, avoided traffic at the business end of proceedings, then powered away from the remarkable Red Cadeaux.

It was certainly a welcome interruption to a good night of sleep.

2

The likelihood of a running of the Grand National not featuring in my top three racing moments of the year is very rare however on this occasion it only makes my number two spot.

A chance eavesdropping session by myself and Calum Madell on the Aintree parade ring steps after the conclusion of the 2013 Becher Chase had us both scrambling for our notebooks. Brian Hughes was convinced Pineau De Re would be suited by the fences come the following April and the good doctor listened intensely.

I didn’t back Pineau Du Re quite as early as Calum did but I got a nice chunk of 33’s at the end of January 2014 and some 25’s on the race day itself back in April.

As for you lucky readers I recommended Pineau De Re for you here on the blog. Not bad after also recommending you go with Lord Windermere at 20/1 for the Cheltenham Gold Cup three weeks earlier.

1

There’s certainly some joie de vivre about my final racing highlight of 2014 as I ventured across the English Channel back in October for my very first visit to Longchamp.

I was in total awe of the entire race course. Those French Racing authorities certainly know how to put on a good show. The atmosphere was so relaxed, it wasn’t over busy, there were no lager louts to be seen, you could wear what you wanted and the entire ambiance of the place was fantastic.

Of course a few winners always help proceedings along and I was lucky enough to back Trêve at home at 11/1. She’d been written off my many a UK pundit but class is permanent and she showed it again on that beautiful autumn Sunday afternoon.

I hope you’ve enjoyed my top three racing moments of 2014. I actually had the potential for ten moments but that would have been quite laborious reading.

Do you have a top three? I’m sure you do. Please share your moments with me and others underneath in the comments box. It’s good to talk!

3 responses to “My Top 3 Racing Moments Of 2014

  1. Think I’d have Taghrooda’s KG in there, maybe instead of Protectionist’s Melbourne Cup (although I did back Protectionist too haha)

  2. My first has to be a horse i have a small share in Sakhee’s Return winning
    Second has to be Holywell winning again at Cheltenham for me as number one
    And finally seeing Tidal Bay’s career coming to an end and him having a long retirement ahead!!

  3. Keep those “three’s” coming.

Leave a Reply

