Remembering Sharron Murgatroyd

Before I go move onto racing matters today and post up my regular blog I’d just like to pay my respects to the family and friends of Sharron Murgatroyd who passed away last night.

This is the opening paragraph from Sharron’s blog http://www.sharronmurgatroyd.co.uk/website:

In 1991 my world was turned upside down, any aspirations of becoming ‘Champion Lady jockey’ were erased in the blink of an eye. A last flight fall at Bangor-on-Dee left me paralysed from the neck down. My dreams and ambitions would never be realised – I would never ride or walk again, but neither would I just sit in a wheelchair. I was determined to prove there should be no restrictions in my new life, after all I was still the same person – I was still Sharron!

If you can spare the time please listen to Sharron on the video link below reading aloud her poem “Racing Bye“. The last few lines will touch your heart and bring about some tears I’m sure. They did for me.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nz1Lpmm3_Xg

Sharon_MurgatroydSharron Murgatroyd 1960-2014

Leave a Reply

